Follow It's Round and It's White on Facebook

How does England's World Cup squad compare to 2014?

Sunday 27th May 2018

The time has almost arrived for the footballing universe to feast its eyes on the World Cup. As a whole nation sits in eager anticipation, England will enter Russia with a new-look squad. Gareth Southgate's men prepare for battle against Belgium, Panama and Tunisia in Group G.

The Three Lions suffered group stage elimination in the last World Cup. Here is a look at how their current squad compares to Roy Hodgson's four years ago in Brazil.


2014: Joe Hart, Fraser Forster, Ben Foster. 

2018: Jordan Pickford, Nick Pope, Jack Butland.

Joe Hart’s recent omission is no surprise. He was deemed surplus to requirements at Manchester City before struggling during loan spells at both Torino and West Ham United.

Three England goalkeepers will experience the World Cup for the first time this summer. Jordan Pickford, Nick Pope and Jack Butland are all young, exciting shot-stoppers. They each have a bright future. 

Butland, who is hoping to earn a move away from Championship-bound Stoke City, is expected to be England’s number one.


2014: Leighton Baines, Gary Cahill, Phil Jagielka, Glen Johnson, Phil Jones, Luke Shaw, Chris Smalling.

2018: Kyle Walker, Kieran Trippier, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Gary Cahill, Danny Rose, John Stones, Harry Maguire, Phil Jones, Ashley Young.

Gary Cahill and Phil Jones are the only survivors in defence from Hodgson's World Cup squad.  

There is some exciting defensive talent included for the Three Lions. Especially Liverpool youngster Trent Alexander-Arnold and Harry Maguire. The Leicester City centre-back travelled to the 2016 European Championships as a fan. Impressing in the Premier League ensured he will soon realise his ultimate dream.   

Ashley Young missed out on the 2014 squad. He has since proven doubters wrong, forcing his way into England's set-up at left-back.


2014: Ross Barkley, Steven Gerrard, Jordan Henderson, Adam Lallana, Frank Lampard, James Milner, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Raheem Sterling, Jack Wilshere.

2018:  Eric Dier, Fabian Delph, Jordan Henderson, Dele Alli, Ruben Loftus-Cheek, Raheem Sterling, Jesse Lingard.

Jordan Henderson and Raheem Sterling will each feature in their second consecutive World Cup. Both have had outstanding seasons at Liverpool and Manchester City respectively.

Jack Wilshere’s exclusion from England's squad has been the most controversial. Many expected the Arsenal midfielder to be involved. 

As opposed to the last World Cup, where Steven Gerrard and Frank Lampard both had their international swansong, Southgate has opted for youth. Eric Dier, Dele Alli, Ruben Loftus-Cheek, Raheem Sterling and Jesse Lingard all booked their ticket to Russia.


2014: Rickie Lambert, Wayne Rooney, Daniel Sturridge, Daniel Welbeck.

2018:  Harry Kane, Jamie Vardy, Marcus Rashford, Danny Welbeck.

Danny Welbeck is the only striker who made both squads. Same as in Brazil, England will take four forwards this summer 

Harry Kane is the obvious choice to lead the line. The Tottenham Hotspur hitman delivered yet another prolific season in the top flight.

The Three Lions have two other options up top. During the last World Cup, Leicester's Jamie Vardy was still two months away from embarking on his first Premier League campaign while Marcus Rashford was only a 16-year-old schoolboy.

Wayne Rooney and Rickie Lambert's experience in 2014 will be replaced by Vardy and Rashford's pace in Russia next month.  

Harry Mail

A big Hull City fan from Manchester. Keep an eye on leagues across Europe, the MLS and non-league in England.

Total articles: 125

Latest England National Team Articles